Friday, January 26, 2018

SOLOMON ISLANDS ~ Point Cruz Wharf - Honiara - Guadalcanal ~

... First new country in 2018ツ... only 22 more to find according to the countries list (193 member states) recognized by the United Nations... the sea port of Point Cruz is the main port of entry into the Solomon Islands... many international shipping and passenger boats companies operate from here... Thanks a lot Pieter!【ツ】
Solomon Islands is a sovereign country consisting of six major islands and over 900 smaller islands located in the South Pacific Ocean lying to the east of Papua New Guinea and northwest of Vanuatu and covering a land area of 28.400 square kilometres. The islands are volcanic and mountainous and nearly 90 percent of the land is forested.

Honiara is the capital of the Solomon Islands located on the island of Guadalcanal. The town is situated at the mouth of the Mataniko River on the north coast of Guadalcanal. A port and communications centre, it trades mainly in coconuts, timber, fish, and some gold.


(Issued 09-10-2013)

(Issued 01-02-2001)

No comments:

Post a Comment